Hello 2013

4 Jan
20130104-150447.jpg

New Year’s Eve 2012 with the Patsy Gamble Band

Happy New Year everyone!

I don’t know about you but last year flew past at a scary speed. It’s probably me being another year older. I have a theory about why time seems to pass quicker as you age. I think it’s because as we get older a year becomes a smaller and smaller percentage of our lives and so feels like less time. If any of you write a book based on that theory I’ll chase you down for a percentage.

As usual I was gigging New Year’s Eve, this time with the lovely Patsy Gamble and her band. I think a lot of us musicians prefer to be gigging that particular night as we’d probably be at someone elses gig anyway, so why not earn money whilst having a good time instead of spending it? The party was busy, the musicians excellent, the company wonderful and everyone had a fun time. After all the New Year’s Eve parties I’ve attended in the past I believe this was first one where balloons were dropped from the ceiling in true celebratory style.

One of my Christmas presents was a square foot of land in Scotland which means I can legally use the title Laird. A bit of fun but all above board and genuine. You can still call me Mark – I won’t have you thrown in the dungeon for insubordination. I might have to investigate the family tartan…

So what does 2013 have in store? At least two new albums, plenty of gigs and lots of travelling. Hopefully good health, a little more cash money and a better ratio of reward to effort. A lottery win would be nice or at least some right people in the right place at the right time. I know you have to keep your sails up to catch the wind, but a little bit of wind to hit the sails would be nice! More networking this year, more pushing and more discipline. That’s about as close to a new year’s resolution as I’m going to get.

Hope your year has got off to a good start and you stay happy and healthy, with everything going your way in 2013.

2 Responses to “Hello 2013”

  1. Tom Selway January 5, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    I echo your sentiments – a bit of luck wouldn’t goes amiss
    would be good to gig with you again
    all the best for the new year Mark

    Tom

    • markjcole January 5, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks Tom :) Happy New Year to you too! I’m sure we’ll get a few Maxwell Street gigs and a few NY Band gigs this year. In fact there could be a gig in the pipeline soon…

Leave a Reply

